World of Warcraft. Books, reading order
World of Warcraft. Books, reading order

The Warcraft universe has long been loved by a multi-million audience scattered around the globe. The unique fantasy world, which became the first of its kind, has become a separate page of life for many fans of the series. They grew up with their favorite game, followed the new parts, immersed themselves in the plot and sincerely worried about the characters. In the future, Blizzard released an online version of Warcraft, the equally famous Dota game appeared, the first and - after - the second part. With the release of the film, interest in the universe has grown significantly. The Warcraft book series was a gift for people who fell in love with this world thanks to the movie and want to learn more about it without going through all the parts of the game. Only not everyone understands in what order one should start studying literature. The chronology of the Warcraft books is still of interest not only to new, but also to old fans of the series.

Rise of the Horde

You need to start reading the Warcraft books in order from this work. Events unfold before the opening of the gate. Despite the fact that the young but promising leader Thrall defeated the curse of terrible demons that has plagued the orcs for centuries, they are forced to continuefighting the shadows of past events. United into a powerful war machine called the Horde, the orcs took part in countless battles against the main enemy - the Alliance. But the will to kill and the anger that drives them to destroy everything in their path to their goal turned against them.

warcraft books reading order

Many years ago, when peace and order reigned in the mysterious Draenor, the orcs were a noble clan that lived in harmony with interesting and numerous neighbors - the draenei. However, the Burning Legion had their own plans for both sides of the conflict. Kil'jaeden, leader of the demons, set in motion a terrifying mechanism of events that led to the almost complete extinction of the draenei, and united the orcs into a single force, thirsting for blood and destruction.

The Last Guardian

Studying the Warcraft universe, books, reading order, you can stumble upon this work, which is the second in the series. In a world where the life of every person directly depends on the ornate flows of magic, it is very difficult to exist. It is not always possible to accurately understand the events taking place: what is truth and what is fiction? How to distinguish the future from the past? Seeking answers to these questions, the young and talented Khadgar traveled to the tower full of mysteries, which houses the strongest mage in existence, to enroll as his apprentice. However, Medivh is not an easy person. No one has yet been able to find out what is going on in his soul.

timeline of warcraft books

Whose side did he take: Darkness or maybeSveta? Although not immediately, but the young sorcerer's curiosity and perseverance helped him find out what was happening with Medivh. The essence of the magician is unstable: he embodies both sides of the eternal conflict. Who will win? A fair and strong magician or a fierce enemy of the entire human race - Zargeras, leader of the Burning Legion?

Streams of darkness

This work should be of interest to all students of Warcraft. The books, their reading order suggests that this part should be viewed after The Last Guardian.

Warcraft books in order

The death of the infamous orc leader Blackhand has allowed Orgrimm Doomhammer to quickly seize control of the vast Horde. His intentions include conquering the rest of Azeroth so that the orcs who come from the dying Draenor can rightfully call this world a new home. Lothar could not bear to look at the troubles caused by foreigners, he gathered the surviving people and crossed the Great Sea with them in the hope of finding help in Lordaeron. Where, with the help of Terenas, he can gather a force capable of resisting the Horde - the Alliance. Noble elves, as well as Trolls and Dwarves, are entangled in a whirlwind of events that served as the beginning of the eternal struggle between two great factions. Can the Alliance forces win, or will the Horde conquer all of Azeroth?

Other books in the series

The chronology of the Warcraft books is much wider than it might seem.

  • The fourth book in the series was "Beyond the Dark Portal", which tells about the invasion of the dying world - Draenor.
  • Followed by "Day of the Dragon", in stores this book can be found under a different name - "Revenge of the Orcs".
  • "Lord of the Clans" is the sixth book in the series of the same name, fully reveals the story of Thrall.
warcraft book series

This is just a small part of the Warcraft universe. Books whose reading order is very important for understanding the fantasy world are widely available.

A few rules for more comfortable reading

While exploring the Warcraft universe, the books, the reading order of the works, one can come across fascinating plot twists that rewrite the course of history. This is not the fault of the authors. It is also best to read works in the original language, if you have the appropriate knowledge. Translation from fans is not always accurate.

Popular topic