Table of contents:

En passant capture - just one pawn move
En passant capture - just one pawn move
Anonim

Just a month and a half ago, all countries and continents celebrated International Chess Day. This year it was celebrated for the fifty first time. And until now, interest in this game has not weakened. But what is chess? Is it a sport, art or game? One of the opinions says that it is, after all, a science based on logic, because chess is a triumph of the mind, which can also give aesthetic pleasure. In this article, we will try to figure out what the concept of "taking on the aisle" means in this interesting game. How is it done and what does it give the chess player?

Broken field

Before we figure out what it is to capture a pawn on the pass, let's get acquainted with one more term in chess. The broken field has a direct, direct relation to our question. This square is what is attacked by the opponent's pawn vertically in front of your pawn in its initial position. You can make a move through the beaten field. But that's how the enemy gets the right to takepawn in exactly the same way as if it had only been moved one square.

One field or two?

So, back to our question - taking on the aisle. What do the rules of chess say? Capture on a beaten square means that the pawn has a special move, thanks to which it has the right to take the pawn from the opponent, moved to two squares at once. It should be noted that under attack is not the square on which the second pawn made a stop, but the one that she managed to cross. The first pawn is exactly on this beaten or crossed square and completes the capture exactly as if the opponent's pawn moved only one cell - one square.

Those are the rules

Such a situation can arise only when the pawn is on certain ranks: for white - on the fifth, for black - on the fourth. And the square that the opponent's pawn crosses is under attack. Taking a pawn from the opponent is possible only if it is done immediately, as soon as it is moved two squares.

take on the pass

A capture on the aisle in chess (these rules have been discussed for a long time) is lost if it is not a counter move. And so it will be with each new batch.

If you plunge a little into history, you can find out that the capture on the pass and the beaten square was established in chess six centuries ago. And this was simultaneously with the rule, according to which it was allowed to make the first move with a pawn, and not one, but two squares forward. The rationale for this rule is quite simple: a pawn cannotmove absolutely freely, provided that the field of passage is under the complete control of the enemy, without fear of being "eaten".

The very important move

The most important thing. An aisle capture in chess is a special move by one pawn, the most important one in which it can hit an opponent's pawn that has been moved two squares. After all, it is known that a pawn can make its first move two squares forward. That is, she jumps over one field.

On the "line of fire" it turns out to be completely different from the square on which the second pawn stopped, namely the one that was crossed by it. The first pawn will complete its capture exactly on this crossed square, as in the case in which the opponent's pawn moved only one square. This has already been mentioned a little above.

So. Visually, it will look like this:

en passant in chess

The black pawn strikes the white pawn, while it stands on the beaten square, and not where the white pawn was (this happens with ordinary attacks). Capture on the aisle is possible only on the next move, because later this right does not apply.

Some terms and conditions to follow

On the aisle, only a pawn is allowed to be captured. Despite the fact that both the queen and the rook move vertically across two squares, it is not allowed to beat these pieces on the pass.

No piece other than the pawn can capture en passant. This is, one might say, an exclusive right, and it belongs exclusivelypawn.

passing a pawn

The ability to beat on the aisle is used to move this very pawn. In other words, next move. And nothing else. Otherwise, the opportunity is lost.

Since there are eight pawns, it is theoretically possible to capture on the aisle as many as eight times. Only this applies to different figures.

And it is absolutely not necessary to beat on the aisle. I.e? There are situations when taking on the pass turns out to be a serious mistake. What does this mean?

Capture on the aisle. Playing effectively does not mean at all that it is effective

Almost any novice chess player is sure that a capture on the aisle will be a very bright start to the game. But at the same time, one should not forget that this, like all the others, subsequent ones, is just one of many other moves. He is no worse or better than others. And sometimes it can be a huge mistake, just like any other move.

The following photo will be a vivid example of this. So:

taking on the pass rules

It clearly shows that Black has made a move. White, meanwhile, was tempted by the opportunity to take on the aisle.

Unfortunately, White has lost a rook. The game was lost.

In this particular case, taking on the pass was a gross mistake. And you didn't have to do it. It was possible not to take a pawn, play somehow differently, thereby trying to save the chances of winning.

en passant in chess rules

To anyoneA chess player - both a beginner and a professional - should always remember that in this game a spectacular move, or just a beautiful one, will not be the most correct and best in every case. You must always remember about all the mentioned rules when capturing on the pass, during each chess game, because otherwise you may encounter the most ridiculous and not very pleasant surprises, or even lose at all.

Popular topic