Great chess players of the world. Rating of chess players
Great chess players of the world. Rating of chess players

Who are great chess players? How to identify them and by what criteria to select? The question is very difficult, because there are actually many "great" ones. The most relevant and fair criterion is the comparison of current modern players, because historical chess players such as Paul Morphy, Emanuel Lasker and others cannot compete with the grandmasters of our time, such as Carlsen, Nakamura, Karjakin, Anand, Kramnik.

Rating of chess players

Why modern chess players are better than historical ones

Today's athletes have access to tons of books and databases, can exchange experiences on forums and use ready-made computerized algorithms. The age of information technology has significantly changed the level of chess. The current rating of chess players significantly exceeds the performance of historical grandmasters. However, chess players of the past years laid the foundation for this game. Aron Nimzowitsch, Bobby Fischer, David Bronstein and many others are people who were champions in their time and, in addition, are the authors of the most famous chess textbooks. There was no pastreal!

Undisputed world chess leaders of all time

Some chess critics single out ten grandmasters who have been or remain the undisputed world champions for many years. The following chess players of all times and peoples notice a strong advantage and epoch-making dominance over others: Emanuel Lasker, José Capablanca, Alexander Alekhine, Robert Fischer, Garry Kasparov, Vladimir Kramnik, Viswanathan Anand, Magnus Carlsen.

Great chess players of the world are foreigners

Magnus Carlsen is a Norwegian chess player who needs no introduction. He is the world champion (from 2013 to the present), the person who was the first to achieve a chess rating of 2872 points. This is the best result of all times and peoples, so Magnus Carlsen is undoubtedly included in the list of the world's great chess players. The current champion has an incredible mindset that has the pathological function of building tactical lines at the top of the chessboard.

The strongest chess player

K. Magnus is the strongest chess player, that's a fact! Experts and critics believe that the Norwegian could beat any chess player ever in the world.

Vishwanathan Anand is the strongest player from India who became the first grandmaster in his country. Anand is a phenomenal chess player with an analytical mind. Viswanathan became FIDE (International Chess Federation) World Champion in 2000 and maintained his dominance until 2002. During his championship in India, an incredibleinterest in chess, which captured the whole of Asia.

Great chess players of the world

Vishwanathan Anand never profiled as a blitz player, but he managed to become the world blitz champion in 2003, thus confirming his status as the strongest chess player. Further more! The Indian grandmaster was the undisputed world champion between 2007 and 2013. During this period, Anand's main rival was Vladimir Kramnik, but the Indian was always stronger. Viswanathan's achievements deserve to be rightfully considered the strongest chess player on the planet.

Kasparov - Karpov are the best chess players of the USSR

Garry Kasparov is definitely the best player of the 20th century! Many connoisseurs of chess can argue with this, saying that Garry Kasparov is on a par with Anatoly Karpov. However, the statistics and facts speak for themselves.

Why Kasparov can be considered the best:

  • Became the youngest world champion at 22.
  • Been the unbeaten world champion for 15 years.
  • In the period from 1984 until his "retirement" in 2005, he had the highest rating according to the International Chess Federation (FIDE).
  • Holds the record for most consecutive professional tournament wins with 15 tournaments over 9 years (1981-1999). The white streak was interrupted by Vassily Ivanchuk in Linares (1991), where Kasparov finished second, half a point behind the leader.
  • Became the best player of the year a record number of times (11 Chess Oscars).

Anatoly Karpov is another chess king of the XXcentury. In 1975, Anatoly Karpov managed to win the Candidates Tournament. This allowed him to enter the match for the world title against Robert Fischer, but the defending champion refused to defend his title.

Great chess players of Russia

According to the chess regulations, the title of world chess champion was awarded to Karpov. Understanding that the title was won, roughly speaking, “for nothing”, Anatoly Karpov took drastic measures - he took part in every world chess championship of various categories. Karpov sought to fulfill his mission - to prove to everyone that his title of "world champion" was well-deserved. And this is what came out of it:

  • World Champion 1975–1985.
  • Nine-time Chess Oscar winner.
  • Six-time winner of the Chess Olympiad.
  • Given the fact that there was a sharp rivalry between Garry Kasparov and Anatoly Karpov, Kasparov spoke more than once about Karpov as the strongest player. The chess players played 144 games among themselves, and all were within the limits of the world championships, Kasparov won 21 times, and Karpov - 19. All other games were played in draws. These two are the world's great chess players, whose rivalry has always aroused the greatest interest among fans of the old game.

FIDE rating

FIDE chess players rating, top 10:

  1. Carlsen Magnus, born in 1990, Norway, 2872 points.
  2. Caruano Fabiano, born in 1992, USA, 2827 points.
  3. Wesley So, born in 1993, USA, 2822 points.
  4. Kramnik Vladimir, born in 1975, Russia, 2811points.
  5. Vachier-Lagrave Maxime, born in 1990, France, 2796 points.
  6. Anand Viswanathan, born in 1969, India, 2786 points.
  7. Aronian Levon, born in 1982, Armenia, 2785 points.
  8. Nakamura Hikaru, born in 1987, USA, 2785 points.
  9. Karyakin Sergey, born in 1990, Russia, 2783 points.
  10. Giri Anish, born in 1994, Netherlands, 2769 points.

Great chess players of Russia

Vladimir Kramnik is a player who managed to step over the rating stage of 2800+ points. Kramnik has the best level of performance among all the strongest chess leaders. In 2000, he became the world champion, beating Garry Kasparov himself. Vladimir Kramnik is the best chess methodologist, whose potential is endowed with computer precision and stress resistance.

Sergey Karjakin is the only chess player who has not yet become a world champion in classical chess. He is the youngest grandmaster on the planet, Sergey received this title at the age of 12 years and 7 months. In addition, in 2002, twelve-year-old Sergey Karyakin was the official tactical coach of Grandmaster Ruslan Ponomorev (FIDE World Champion 2002-2004). There has never been anything like it in the world!

In 2016, he won the Candidates Tournament and became an opponent of Magnus Carlsen, but he could not win. Sergey Karjakin still remains the main rival of the reigning champion. In 2012 and 2016 he became the world blitz champion. Karjakin is the best chess dominant, strategist and blitz player.

Great chess players

Experts say rivalrybetween Magnus Carlsen and Sergey Karjakin will surpass the famous Kasparov-Karpov pairing.

Popular topic